Incumbents on ballot in Diamond Bluff

All incumbents were the only nominations for the spring ballot at the Diamond Bluff Town Caucus held Thursday, Jan. 12.

The spring election will be held Tuesday, April 4. The slate of officers is: -Chair Jeff Holst -Supervisors Pat Atherton and Roger Dosdall -Treasurer Mark Place -Clerk Todd Mehrkens. At its regular town board meeting prior to the caucus, the township got some good news. It had applied for grant funding to replace a bridge on 1005th Street with the Wisconsin Department of Transportation. The grant was to pay for 80 percent of the $703,000 project. However, the town learned that the state will pay for the full cost of the project.

“They’re going to pay 100 percent of that bridge,” said Holst.

The board voted unanimously to accept the funding. The board also voted to increase the pay for election workers.

Mehrkens said it’s been six years since it was reviewed. The head poll worker currently is paid $11/hour, and election workers make $10.50/hour.

That will be raised to $13 for the head poll worker, and $12.50 for the others.

“Other municipalities have struggled staffing their elections. We have the same people. They’re faithful,” said Mehrkens.

“It would be a good year to up them. There aren’t too many elections,” added Holst.

January 17, 2023